August ’17 Performance

So the month has ended, and so its time to take stock of the performance across my portfolio, and compare it to the usual index of choice. This enables me to see how I am doing. As I covered in my “How I measure performance” – basically I take the value of the portfolio at the end of last month, add on any contributions for the month, and that was my starting value. End value is the value at the end of the reporting period. Simples 🙂

Portfolio Performance Notes
Company Pension  0.86% No income generated as all funds are in growth or reinvested
Personal Pension  0.02% No income generated as all funds are in growth or reinvested
ISA 1  -0.1% No income generated as all funds are in growth or reinvested
ISA 2  -0.01% The performance does not include the income that was paid out into my account, but is covered by the income so really need to consider both in conjunction
ISA 3  1.32% Although dividends are paid out, they remain in the ISA wrapper, and will get reinvested for growth. The performance figure includes both the Capital growth, and also income received which will get reinvested. The Income is the %age paid out by the portfolio but remains inside the wrapper to buy more goodies
ISA 4 1.22% Just tracking along
FTSE-100  0.8% This excludes any dividends
FTSE-250  0.11% This excludes any dividends
FTSE-All  0.66% This excludes any dividends
S&P500  -0.19% This excludes any dividends
Dow Jones  0.04% This excludes any dividends
VWRL  2.58%
VHYL  2.49%
GBP/USD  -0.93%

So what surprised me most here was the jump in the VHYL and VWRL – but then when you look at the drop in the pound that explains a lot of it!

The disparity between VWRL and the tracker ISA (#4) I put down to the fact that I am still putting in a huge percentage of the portfolio in cash each month so will take some time to track closely together, but the main thing is…. they are going up in value!

It also seems that my IFA is better with larger pots given the difference, however my other half’s ISA is still having considerable contributions being added which distorts the performance.

Overall, total values are continuing upwards and at a reasonable rate overall, so I am happy.

Notes:

Company Pension: This consists of a number of actively managed funds – I don’t have any choice of trackers etc, but I will take the matching, that will more than cover the fees, and I will just live with it.

Personal Pension: This is managed by my FA and contains Actively Managed funds. I continue to contribute each month and the contribution is included in the performance – before my FA has taken their cut (e.g. if I put in £100, and they charged me £5, so only £95 went into the account, I would still class that as £100).

ISA 1: This is also managed by my FA, but no new contributions going in (nor planned).

ISA 2: This is also managed by my FA, however its slightly more complicated than that. There are 3 sub portfolios within, each of which have funds added each month, but each portfolio has different levels of contribution.

ISA 3: This is the ISA I manage myself. The last contributions added to it will be this tax year, 2016 – 2017 until some of my other ISAs  have grown to a similar size

ISA 4: This is the Go T’ Pub ISA

Author: fireinlondon

Fighting the high cost of living in London

1 thought on “August ’17 Performance”

Leave a Reply

