Sep ’17 Income and Expenses

I can’t believe just how fast September has gone by. I know I was struggling to post as often as I wanted to, but to be doing this statement already I find hard to comprehend.

It’s been a very busy month with a lot of travelling, both work and personal reasons, so what has this done to the overall month? Time to take a look!

As previously mentioned, the September statement for income is from my end of August pay cheque as this is the funds for the month.

Income

So with my new tax code, I found myself with a much larger pay cheque then I expected. Given that HMRC seem to regularly muck me around (last tax year I received I think it was 8, yes 8, different tax codes over the year), I took the view that any extra funds above my standard income will not be included and I will put to the side for now. As such the numbers below are based on my “standard” income.

My other half’s ISA also chucked out more money this month than ever before, so it is starting to really demonstrate the benefit!

Expenses

So, always a nervous time this, lets take a look at what the expenses are like…. I am sitting comfortably! It felt like I had a lot of expenses in September with a number of weekday networking and meeting up nights out, travel for work meaning that I couldn’t always make the cheapest options work, and then personal travel and visiting also adding to the costs.

Item Notes Amount
Things I choose not to avoid* Mortgage, Insurance, shared bills etc. – yes, we could move somewhere cheaper, not have insurance, reduce our bills a bit and so on, but we are where we are. 40%
Groceries All the food and other stuff needed for home 3%
Alcohol for home Home alcohol consumption only 2%
Bicycles / Car related Any costs related to either the bikes or the car 1%
Alcohol Out Generally, its the pub…. 3%
Eating Out I include purchased lunches in this as well as meals out etc. 1%
Other My catch all for anything I may have missed…. 1%
Holidays Any spending related to holidays, flights etc. 0%
Savings Anything left over! This includes money into ISAs, mortgage payments and non relief pension contributions. My company pension comes out before it hits my bank account so isn’t included, nor do I include the “top up” of money when my money goes into my personal pension (i.e. I put in £100, I register it as £100, not the £125 that gets credited in my pension) 49%

Wowser. This is actually my highest ever savings rate (by 0.3%). Something I am super pleased with especially given how active this month was, so shows it can be done. I am sorry that I didn’t quite break the 50% level, but that gives me something to aim for still.

My overall alcohol out bill this month is a little bit higher than it should be, but reflected by the nights out I have had, all of which I enjoyed!

Groceries was also quite high this month, however some of that was food that will be going away with us when we next go on holiday, so not the end of the world.

Overall it feels a very odd September. I don’t feel like I had any time to do anything much (I struggled to even make 1 post per week) and yet despite all that, a very good savings rate. Having to pay back my savings for the building work has shown that I can still do this so if I can keep this going once the cash is replenished then I will look at how I can add this into my normal funds. Either towards holidays / general things or more savings, I will wait to see.

How was your September?

Author: fireinlondon

Fighting the high cost of living in London

2 thoughts on “Sep ’17 Income and Expenses”

  1. Bloody good going there FiL!

    Shame you didn’t break the 50% barrier but still a PB you gotta be happy with ay 🙂

    Will have to look up the FI London facebook group and get another beer in soon, I keep forgetting about it haha!

    Like

  2. Thanks TFS – yes I am gutted I didnt manage to beat the 50%, however I was so close it gives me confidence that I will be able to make it (just not in October!)
    Yes definitely – always good to get an extra beer in 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

