Oct ’17 Income and Expenses

So before I have even blinked October has come to an end and it is time to look back at how October went. Time has once again flown by as shown by my lack of posts in October, and it has already been a little expensive. So, how did the month look?

Income

So a full month of a sensible income now that the tax code fun has settled down. This means I in effect got a reasonable pay rise for the rest of the year (subject to change of course) which means I find myself with a bit of extra cash – bonus!

My other half’s ISA also chucked out more money this month than ever before, so it is starting to really demonstrate the benefit! I really am getting excited about this now as the constant money going in is really paying out more to help day to day fun.

Expenses

So, what has hit this month? Time to unpick the numbers – with some time off from work things are a bit more expensive than I would normally have.

Item Notes Amount
Things I choose not to avoid* Mortgage, Insurance, shared bills etc. – yes, we could move somewhere cheaper, not have insurance, reduce our bills a bit and so on, but we are where we are. 44%
Groceries All the food and other stuff needed for home 2%
Alcohol for home Home alcohol consumption only 4%
Bicycles / Car related Any costs related to either the bikes or the car 0%
Alcohol Out Generally, its the pub…. 2%
Eating Out I include purchased lunches in this as well as meals out etc. 5%
Other My catch all for anything I may have missed…. 12%
Holidays Any spending related to holidays, flights etc. 5%
Savings Anything left over! This includes money into ISAs, mortgage payments and non relief pension contributions. My company pension comes out before it hits my bank account so isn’t included, nor do I include the “top up” of money when my money goes into my personal pension (i.e. I put in £100, I register it as £100, not the £125 that gets credited in my pension) 26%

So, what to make of all of this? My “standard” costs you may have noticed are somewhat higher than normal. This was due to a one-off additional cost in one of my standard elements that form part of the things I wont change. I could have said no to the extra but there was no way I was going to – it’s part of my journey!

So, what else was in there that caused the large drop in my savings rate?

Holiday – so some time off, this covered the transport, food and drink both in the holiday and out in pubs / restaurants whilst away. I definitely don’t regret spending on it, and for a relatively small amount of money had a very good time away – a break is always good.

Eating Out. Ok, so this month that was an expensive time! Well, I went out for dinner a number of times over the month meeting up with people I haven’t seen for a while. An expensive way of doing it, but some very good fun evenings and got to try a couple of new restaurants!

Other. Ok so this was a little high this month – the downside of buying tickets for the Royal Opera House! London can be a very expensive place if you are not careful. I haven’t been to the ROH for a few years now so this will really be a treat. Yes we could have got cheaper seats, but I do believe in a little treat once in a while, and I want to be able to see the stage!

Despite the reduced savings rate, this is where my cash flow fund comes into its own. My direct debits / standing orders kicked in as usual – still filling up the Go T’ Pub ISA, my other half’s ISA and my pensions. This means my investments are continuing to tick up each month even when I have these challenges! I do need to be careful to make sure I have enough money in my CFF for Christmas.

How was your October?

Author: fireinlondon

Fighting the high cost of living in London

2 thoughts on “Oct ’17 Income and Expenses”

  1. Still a very decent savings rate, plus you enjoyed yourself on holiday, enjoyed a great social life and had a trip to the Royal Opera House too! If you didn’t do these things, perhaps your journey might be shorter but where would the fun and experiences be along the way?
    My forthcoming holiday is likely to be a very expensive one, with big family celebrations, the costs of which I will need to contribute towards. With sterling being so low, the exchange will be hitting my pocket even more. Such things can’t be helped and unlikely to stop me from enjoying myself!

    Like

    1. Hi Weenie,
      Thanks for stopping by! Well, the ROH trip is actually in December, but we had to pay up this month, but something to look forward to and bought forward! As you say still a reasonable rate that keeps me going towards FI.
      Sounds like although the holiday may be expensive it will no doubt be a great time, and you definitely shouldn’t compromise on enjoying it!
      Cheers,
      FiL

      Like

Leave a Reply

