Sep ’17 Go T’ Pub Performance

So here we are again, a little late in the month on the update but as always, here it is!

For the full details over all of the portfolios as a summary please refer to the full month end report – this is specifically looking at what has happened on the Go T’ Pub portfolio only.

So the key bullet points for this month:

  • New Funds added. As always, the regular contribution of £1,100 has gone in
  • This month the portfolio generated no dividends, so no income to help me through (VWRL will pay out in October)
  • No withdrawal was made
  • Left over cash from the previous purchases was left in

Overall performance: The starting value was £9,664.77, with £1,100 in new funds added, and £0 withdrawals, meaning total starting value was £10,764.77. We finished the month on £10,685.48, so the total performance across the whole portfolio was -0.74%. Disappointing when it ends less than it starts, but the main thing is the total value is higher than the previous month.

VWRL ETF

So the standard units were purchased – a further 18 units purchased at £59.49 per unit, making the average cost per unit of £60.27. So despite all the noise and yo-yoing of the market, the average price changed by just 17p. It all helps!

So – how does this now look as the graph data slowly builds up?

201709gtpub

So right now, hardly anything in it between my contributions and the value. I should get another dividend next month from the VWRL so hopefully that will make a slight dint and show a bit more value than contributions, but I will save that excitement for now!

Cash Vs. Investment Trust

So  – back to the challenge of cash against investing for my emergency fund. Remember folks – you should not do this.

So, how is it looking?

Cash Now stands at £5,127.06
S&S ISA IT Now stands at £5,171.64

Yes, that’s right – I got a whole 4p interest in my cash ISA. The previous dividend from CTY was automatically reinvested, buying an extra 11 units (total cost, including trading fee and stamp duty just over £48) which explains part of the difference.

For those that prefer pretty pictures:

201709cashvsstock

A nice little trend above the cash. One day we may even see the starting value line appearing underneath the cash line.

Conclusion

So nothing at all interesting happening here if I am honest! The overall value of the portfolio keeps on ticking up with the extra cash going in which is always nice to see.

Author: fireinlondon

Fighting the high cost of living in London

4 thoughts on “Sep ’17 Go T’ Pub Performance”

  1. It’s great to see that in a short time, your cash ISA is already looking like a poor bet, yet so many people who do have ISAs just have cash ones, not S&S ones. Still very early days yet for your VRWL ETF, will take a while to get going but even just putting the capital in each month is a good thing!

    Like

    1. Hi Weenie,
      Yes I am enjoying seeing that, but it is important to remember that the market is not crashing so I will wait with interest to see what happens and what the graph looks like when the time comes – and don’t forget also it will cost me a trading fee to access my money for that emergency….. but at this rate I can see me transferring more of my ISA emergency cash into this… not sensible, but…!
      Yes, the VWRL ETF is an interesting one, it hasnt really varied much (between about £59 and £62) at point of purchase, and adding in the trading cost (£1.50) there isn’t a lot going. I am hoping to see a bit more of a jump in the October one as I will have received a larger dividend, but to be honest I expect it to take a year or so before I start seeing any meaningful progress – basically the dividend has to be large enough to buy me an extra share I couldn’t have done otherwise, and I think this is where the Funds (where you can buy part of a share) rather than ETFs may have the edge… we will see!
      Cheers,
      FiL

      Like

Leave a Reply

